Moore Posts Florida Southern’s Best Finish on Day One of Spartan Invitational; Moccasins are Fifth Overall

Katie Moore
Katie Moore

CLEARWATER, FLA. – Katie Moore was Florida Southern's top swimmer on the first day of the Spartan Invitational, barely missing an NCAA provisional qualifying time in the 1,000-freestyle as the Moccasins finished the day in fifth place overall.


  • Moore was Florida Southern's top swimmer and only scorer in the 1,000-freestyle. She finished seventh in a season-best time of 10:27.22, bettering hers' and the Moccasins' previous best by more than 13 seconds. She fell just 2.08 seconds short of an NCAA provisional qualifying time. Nova Southeastern's Emma Sundstedt was the winner in the 1,000-free in 9:58.48. The Sharks and Spartans had the top swimmers, and Indian River State took fifth and sixth.
  • Leading Florida Southern in the 200-IM was Rebeka Dics, who finished 11th in 2:08.31, and Kyra Fraser, who was 16th in 2:09.75, both of whom had their best times of the season. Savanna Best of Indian River State was the winner in 2:03.18, finishing less than one second ahead of Nova's Kaylee Gassen.
  • The next Moccasin to put points on the board was Maria Di Bella, who placed 16th in the 50-freestyle in 24.31 seconds. Her time of 24.18 seconds in prelims left her a little over one-tenth of a second away from an NCAA provisional time. The Spartans had four of the top six swimmers, with Megan Waddell and Hana Van Loock tying for first in 23.40 seconds.
  • The Moccasins finished seventh in the 200-medley relay with a time of 1:47.23, with Di Bella, Haley DeGrace, Dics, and Mallary Meyer on that team. That put them roughly five seconds behind Tampa, which won in 1:42.25.


  • Tampa holds a 60-point lead over Nova Southeastern after the first day (278-218), and Indian River State is third with 148 points. Saint Leo (56), Florida Southern (50), and Catawba (25) round out the team scores with three days remaining.


Day two of the Spartan Invitational begins Sunday morning at the Long Center with prelims at 10 a.m., and concludes with finals in five events Sunday night at 6 p.m.