Near-Misses Mark Second Day of NCAA Division II National Women’s Swimming Finals for the Moccasins

Jacinda Whittenburg
Jacinda Whittenburg

BIRMINGHAM, AL – Florida Southern had two individuals and two relay teams competing on the second day of the NCAA Division II Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, and it was a day of near-misses for all of them. With one relay spot lost on a DQ, another that was short by less than one second, and two individuals who missed by a combined 1.32 seconds, the Moccasins saw their day end during Thursday's prelims.


  • Florida Southern's 200-freestyle relay team of sophomores Krystal Karas and Rebeka Dics, junior Britt Aubley and freshman Mallary Meyer compiled a time of 1:34.61, good enough to claim the final spot for the B finals, but an early take-off by the slimmest of margins knocked them from contention and put Saint Leo into the consolation finals with a time of 1:34.78.
  • In the first individual race of the day, junior Jacinda Whittenburg missed a spot in the consolation finals of the 400-individual medley by a little over half a second, swimming that race in 4:27.94.
  • The Moccasins had no qualifiers in the 100-butterfly, so their next competitor was junior Peyton Breault in the 200-freestyle. Breault posted a time of 1:51.81, but fell 0.77 seconds short of advancing to Thursday night.
  • Another narrow miss came in the prelims of the 400-medley relay where the team of Breault, and sophomore Haley DeGrace, Karas and Dics put together a time of 3:49.55, leaving them 0.93 seconds away from advancing.


  • Queens (NC), which had trailed Drury (MO) by one point after day one, moved ahead of the Panthers at the end of day two by 22 points, 245-223. Wingate (NC) remained third with 173 points and Lindenwood (MO) moved into fourth place with 119 points. Fresno Pacific was fifth with 114, Wayne State (MI) was sixth with 112, and Nova Southeastern and West Chester (PA) were tied for seventh with 105.

UP NEXT: Day three of the National Finals begins with prelims at 11:30 a.m. Eastern Time, and the finals in five events get underway at 7 p.m. EST.