Moccasins Place Five on IWLCA All-Region Squad

Moccasins Place Five on IWLCA All-Region Squad

GRAND LAKE, CO - Florida Southern College women's lacrosse had five different players earn first team all-region honors from the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association, the IWLCA announced on Friday.

The Moccasins tied with Adelphi for the highest number of first team all-region honorees. The Panthers finished with five selections from the North Region, while Florida Southern led the South Region in first-team winners.

Dani Bursinger, Kendall Kerge, Meghan O'Brien, Emily Santoli and Meghan Vadala were the five Moccasins who earned the honor. Each student-athlete was previously named a first team all-Sunshine State Conference selection, while Santoli was named the SSC Player of the Year.

Kerge leads the Moccasins and ranks 18th nationally with 59 goals, while O'Brien has scored 53. Santoli has been one of the best all-around players in the nation with 39 goals, 18 assists, 35 ground balls and 27 caused turnovers.

Bursinger led the Sunshine State Conference and ranks fifth in the country in draw controls per game (6.52), while Vadala finished with a team-best 26 caused turnovers.

Florida Southern's five all-region selections are tied for the most in school history, while the five first-team honorees set a school record - the Mocs had four first-team selections in 2015.

The Moccasins will square off with No. 6 Florida Tech on Saturday in the second round of the NCAA Division II Tournament. The winner will advance to the national semifinals in Bloomsburg, PA next Friday.

Florida Southern enters the contest as the No. 2 seed in the South Region while Florida Tech, the No. 6 seed, advanced with a 17-10 win over No. 3 seed East Stroudsburg on Friday.

Saturday's game is set for 3 p.m. at Bryant Stadium, and fans can watch live by visiting www.fscmocs.com/gameday.