Gartrell Named WGCA Second Team All-American for Second Year in a Row

Gartrell Named WGCA Second Team All-American for Second Year in a Row

For the second year in a row, Florida Southern junior Amanda Gartrell has been named a Second Team All-American by the Women's Golf Coaches Association. First team selections were announced at the conclusion of stroke play at the national finals on May 15, and the second team and honorable mention honorees were announced Monday night, May 20.

Previously selected to the WGCA All-South Region and All-Sunshine State Conference teams, Gartrell picked up her third postseason award after leading the Moccasins in stroke average for the third year in a row, dropping that number even lower than her All-American sophomore season. Her 74.39 average is the second lowest in team history and she now has a chance to join Shanna Nagy (1996-99) as the only Moccasins to lead the team in that category all four years.

While playing in all 12 tournaments for the Mocs this year, Gartrell had five top-10 finishes, three top-fives, and won the Argonaut Invitational on April 2. She followed that with a fourth-place finish at the Sunshine State Conference Championships, and a 14th-place finish at the NCAA Division II South Regional. Over the course of the season, Gartrell had a team-high 10 rounds of par or better, and nine of those came during the spring semester when she was the Mocs' top golfer in six of seven tournaments. Her .856 individual winning percentage was also the best on the team.

Gartrell will go into her senior year with a 75.18 career stroke average, which is currently the best in team history. That puts her just ahead of Heather Burgner, who had a 75.65 average from 2005-09. Burgner still holds the single-season record of 74.27, which she set as a senior.

Gartrell, who is No. 19 in the year-end individual Golfstat rankings, was one of 15 golfers from the Sunshine State Conference to earn All-American recognition by the WGCA, and Florida Tech's Chris Saltmarsh was named the WGCA National Coach of the Year after leading the Panthers to their first national championship.


Division II Golf Pride WGCA National Coach of the Year
Chris Saltmarsh, Florida Institute of Technology

Division II Golf Pride WGCA Assistant Coach of the Year
Jennifer Johnson, California State University San Marcos

PING WGCA Division II Player of the Year 
Pilar Echeverria, University of Indianapolis

WGCA Division II Freshman of the Year 
Jacqueline Klemm, Arkansas Tech University

WGCA Division II All-American Teams
First Team
Seher Atwal, Rollins College
Pilar Echeverria, University of Indianapolis
Sofia Garcia Austt, Nova Southeastern University
Maria Regina Gonzalez, St. Mary's University (Texas)
Hanna Harrison, Dallas Baptist University
Jaime Jacob, California State University San Marcos
Helen Kreuzer, Lynn University
Tilda Larsson, Barry University
Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist University
Peerada Piddon, Arkansas Tech University
Kiira Riihijarvi, University of Tampa
Anahi Servin, Academy of Art University

Second Team
Noelle Beijer, Florida Institute of Technology
Katie Chipman, Grand Valley State University
Lucy Eaton, Florida Institute of Technology
Amanda Gartrell, Florida Southern College
Claire Hogle, California State University San Marcos
Synne Lauritzen, Saint Leo University
Sophie Madden, Nova Southeastern University
Pilar Martinez, Limestone College
Shi Qing Ong, Missouri Western State University
Kristina Ortiz, Lynn University
Warissara Puangcharoen, Wingate University
Makenzie Torres, University of Findlay

Honorable Mention Team
Evelyn Arguelles, Dallas Baptist University
Franziska Bremm, University of West Georgia
Gloria Choi, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Megan DaLeo, Sonoma State University
Aldana Foigel, Nova Southeastern University
Ebba Hellman, Limestone College
Breann Horn, California State University San Marcos
Jacqueline Klemm, Arkansas Tech University
Krystal Knight, Merrimack College
Paola Ortiz, Florida Institute of Technology
Josefina Foa Torres, Barry University
Jaya Rampuri, Simon Fraser University
Loukyee Songprasert, West Texas A&M University
Matilda Wahren, Lynn University