Women's Golf Team Officially Selected for NCAA Division II South Region Tournament

Women's Golf Team Officially Selected for NCAA Division II South Region Tournament

INDIANAPOLIS – The Florida Southern women's golf team has been selected to compete in the 2019 NCAA Division II South Region Tournament as the No. 7 seed in Cleveland, Tennessee. The Moccasins are making their 20th appearance as a team in the NCAA Tournament, and 19th in 23 years under head coach Robbie Davis. This year's South Region Tournament is being hosted by Lee University and will be played at Cleveland Country Club from May 6-8.

Four regional tournaments will be played across the country next week, with 12 teams and six additional individuals competing in each of them. The top four teams from each super regional, along with the top four golfers not with one of those teams, advance to the NCAA Division II National Finals in West Palm Beach, Florida, May 14-18. Florida Southern last advanced as a team in 2012 as the regional champion, and has made 11 appearances at the National Finals overall, making it one of the most successful Division II programs in the country. The Moccasins have won four national championships in their history (2000, 2001, 2002, and 2007), and have been the national runner-up five times.

Since the NCAA began holding regional tournaments for Division II in 2002, Florida Southern has played in 15 of them as a team. (Prior to 2002, selected teams went straight to the National Finals.) The Mocs have won the regional three times and finished as runner-up on five other occasions. Their most recent regional title came in 2012. The Moccasins were fourth last year when only three teams advanced to the national finals, falling short by just four strokes.

This year's South Region field is again dominated by the Sunshine State Conference, with SSC schools receiving eight of the 12 invitations, including all seven at-large spots. Along with the No. 7 seed Florida Southern, the SSC is represented by the No. 1 seed Barry; No. 2 seed Nova Southeastern; No. 3 seed Lynn, which won this year's SSC Championship; No. 4 seed Florida Tech; No. 5 seed Saint Leo; No. 8 seed Tampa; and No. 9 seed Rollins. Tampa is making its first NCAA postseason appearance as a team.

Earning the other four automatic bids as conference champions are No. 6 seed Limestone (SC) from Conference Carolinas; No. 10 seed Lee (TN) from the Gulf South; No. 11 seed Flagler from the Peach Belt; and No. 12 seed Anderson (SC), which earned its first NCAA Tournament bid by winning the South Atlantic. Anderson and Tampa are the only teams in this year's South Region Tournament that did not play in last year's regional.

Earning spots as individual qualifiers are Warissa Paungcharoen of Wingate (NC); Franziska Bremm of West Georgia; Lise Malherbe of Lincoln Memorial (TN); Abbey Hartsell of Lenoir-Rhyne (NC); Maeve Cummins of Carson-Newman (TN); and Solange Gomez of West Florida. Bremm earned an individual bid for the second year in a row from West Georgia.

This year marks the first time the South Regional is being played at Cleveland Country Club or hosted by Lee, though it's the second year in a row a Gulf South Conference school from the state of Tennessee has been the tournament host. Last year it was played in Memphis with Christian Brothers serving as host.

The format calls for one round each day beginning at 8:30 a.m. First- and second-round pairings are determined by seeding, and pairings for the final round are based on team scores up to that point. As the No. 7 seed, Florida Southern will play the first two rounds with Tampa and Rollins. On Monday, those teams will tee off at 10-minute intervals between 8:40 and 9:20 a.m., and on Tuesday, their tee times range between 9:20 and 10:00.

A full tournament preview, along with links for live coverage, will be available by next Sunday.

The full list of regional selections can be found at NCAA.com.


South Regional 
Cleveland Country Club
Cleveland, Tennessee
Host: Lee University 

1. Barry
2. Nova Southeastern
3. Lynn [Sunshine State Conference]
4. Florida Tech
5. Saint Leo
6. Limestone [Conference Carolinas]
7. Florida Southern
8. Tampa
9. Rollins
10. Lee [Gulf South Conference]
11. Flagler [Peach Belt Conference]
12. Anderson (South Carolina) [South Atlantic Conference]
1. Warissa Paungcharoen, Wingate
2. Franziska Bremm, West Georgia
3. Lise Malherbe, Lincoln Memorial
4. Abbey Hartsell, Lenoir-Rhyne
5. Maeve Cummins, Carson-Newman
6. Solange Gomez, West Florida