Giardina, Fuchs-Robetin Earn D2CCA All-Region Honors

Giardina, Fuchs-Robetin Earn D2CCA All-Region Honors

JACKSON, TN - The 2018-19 Division II Conference Commissioner's Association (D2CCA) Women's Basketball All-South Region Team has been announced. The south's all-region team is voted on by the Sports Information Director's from the South Region, made up of institutions from the Gulf South Conference (GSC), Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC), and Sunshine State Conference (SSC).

Florida Southern College's Camile Giardina was voted as the South Region Player of the Year. Giardina led her team to the SSC regular season and tournament titles, as well as, a No. 1 seed and host for the South Region Tournament. She averaged 19.5 points per game with a .485 field goal percentage. She made 135 3-pointers at .384 percent. Giardina grabbed four rebounds per game, dished out two assists per game, and had two steals per game.

Joining Giardina on the D2CCA First Team All-South Region was GSC Player of the Year, Toni Brewer of the University of West Florida, Anja Fuchs-Robetin (Florida Southern), Morgan Martin (Union University), and Halee Nieman (West Florida). Giardina is a repeat selection as a first-team honoree, having earned the honor a year ago, while Fuchs-Robetin was a second team all-South Region selection last year.

The D2CCA Second Team All-Region is made up of the SIAC Player of the Year, Ay'Anna Bey (Benedict College), Abby Bertram (Lee University), Jada Smith (Union), Chelsea Johnson (Eckerd College), and Dori Nagy (University of Tampa).

2018-19 D2CCA All-South Region Honors

Player of the Year
Camile Giardina, Florida Southern College

First Team
Camile Giardina, Florida Southern College
Toni Brewer, University of West Florida
Anja Fuchs-Robetin, Florida Southern College
Morgan Martin, Union University
Halee Nieman, University of West Florida

Second Team
Ay'Anna Bey, Benedict College
Abby Bertram, Lee University
Jada Smith, Union University
Chelsea Johnson, Eckerd College
Dori Nagy, University of Tampa