Indian River Rallies for 103-102 Win over Florida Southern in Moccasins’ Final Regular Season Meet

Matthew Holmes
Matthew Holmes

FORT PIERCE, FL – Matthew Holmes won a pair of races and was part of three straight individual wins that gave Florida Southern the lead with one race remaining. Indian River State, however, won that race, the 200-freestyle relay, giving the River just enough points to slip past the Moccasins 103-102.


  • Indian River State won both relays Friday, while Florida Southern won five of the nine individual races. Through the first seven events, Indian River held a 74-57 lead, but the Moccasins came back from that 17-point deficit by winning the final three individuals and held a 96-92 advantage going into the 200-freestyle relay. The River earned the meet victory when Ruben Van Leeuwen, Ryen Van Wyk, Kevin Bargate and Luka Tomic finished 0.58 seconds ahead of the Moccasin quartet of Talor Hamilton, Sean Kim, Matthew Holmes, and Luka Matacin.
  • Van Leeuwen and Van Wyk were also part of the River's winning 200-medley relay team that started the meet. That group had a similar 0.63-second win over Brandon Dyck, Sean Kim, Noah Franz and Nico Campbell.
  • The Moccasins tied the score when Luka Planinc won the 1,000-freestyle, touching the wall a little over half a second ahead of Nikola Milosavljevic. Holmes then made it back-to-back wins for the Mocs by taking the 200-freestyle by 0.95 seconds over Tomic, the man who would later clinch the meet for Indian River. With Franz finishing third, the Mocs out-scored the River 13-6 in the 200-free, giving them a 7-point lead in the meet.
  • Indian River's Guillaume Bolivard won the 50-freestyle, but the Moccasins didn't lose much ground as Hamilton, Campbell, and Dyck were second, third and fourth. That resulted in only one lost point for the Moccasins.
  • The Mocs gave up the lead in the next race though, as Gabriele Sasia won the 200-IM by 1.57 seconds over Matias Lopez, and Calvin Giang in fourth was the only other Moccasin to score.
  • When Van Leeuwen won the 100-butterfly, and Indian River swimmers also placed third and fourth, the Moccasins fell behind by 10 points. Miguel Bernotti led the Mocs in the 100-fly, finishing second to Van Leeuwen by 2.48 seconds.
  • Indian River widened the lead to 17, the largest for either team on Friday, when Bolivard and Van Wyk were first and second in the 100-free. Following them in third through fifth were Campbell, Franz and Levi Parsons. The top three swimmers were separated by 0.33 seconds.
  • Florida Southern began its comeback by taking three of the top four positions in the 100-backstroke, which Dyck won by four-tenths of a second over Sasia. Lopez was third and Hamilton was fourth, allowing the Mocs to out-score the River 14-5.
  • The Mocs picked up three more points in the 500-freestyle where Holmes had his second win of the day and Planinc was fourth. Holmes had his best time of the season at 4:39.12, which put him 2.35 seconds ahead of Tomic, the second time Friday those two finished first and second in an individual race.
  • The finishes by Holmes and Planinc got Florida Southern within five points of the lead and the breaststroke trio of Luis Jasso, Kim, and Pedro Bernotti then put them ahead. Jasso and Kim finished 1-2, with Kim 0.42 seconds out in front. The Mocs' 4-point lead would not hold up though.  


  • Jasso won either the 100- or 200-breast in all seven dual meets this year and was no worse than second in any of his six breaststroke races during the three multi-team invitationals in which the Mocs' participated.
  • Holmes had his second multi-win meet of the season. He won both individual medley events at the Spartan Invitational in December. He's now third on the team with eight individual wins this season behind Lopez (10) and Jasso (9).
  • Last year's meet against Indian River State was also decided by single digits, with the River winning 106-99. The last time Florida Southern had a dual meet decided by one point was a 128-128 tie with Rollins on November 21, 2009.
  • Indian River State has won 43 consecutive junior college national championships.


The Sunshine State Conference Championships begin Thursday, February 22 in Clearwater, with the 4-day meet running through Sunday, February 25.