Men's Lacrosse Falls to No. 13 Tampa

Men's Lacrosse Falls to No. 13 Tampa

LAKELAND, FL - Florida Southern College men's lacrosse fell into an early hole and never recovered in an 18-8 loss to No. 13 Tampa on Wednesday at Bryant Stadium.

The Moccasins (6-6, 1-2 SSC) dropped their second-straight Sunshine State Conference game and fell to the Spartans (10-3, 3-0) for the seventh time in a row.

• Tampa struck early an often, scoring twice in the first two minutes en route to an early 5-0 lead. The Mocs would get on the board when Jeff Phelps won a faceoff, scooped up the ball, and raced into the offensive zone to score Florida Southern's first goal with 1:45 left in the first.
• The Spartans ripped off six unanswered goals to begin the second half to grab a commanding 11-1 lead. Liam Winwood would convert a man-up opportunity with 3:22 to play in the first half to make it 11-2, but Tampa scored just over a minute later to take a 12-2 lead into the locker room.
• Florida Southern was able to score six second-half goals, three in the third quarter and three more in the fourth, but the Spartans kept up the pressure and scored six goals of their own in the second half en route to the win. The Moccasins never trailed by less than nine goals over the final 30 minutes of play.
• Tampa outshot Florida Southern 42-32, win 19-of-30 faceoffs, and went a perfect 3-of-3 in man-up opportunities. The Spartans were fueled by seven goals from Andrew Kew, who entered the game as the nation's top goal scorer at all levels of NCAA men's lacrosse.

• Florida Southern fell to 1-8 all-time against Tampa, including 0-3 at Bryant Stadium. The Moccasins dropped to 42-32 all-time at home.
Nick Gutmann led Florida Southern with two goals, while Cody Dyer dished out two assists and Austen Lison grabbed four ground balls. Colin Bayer, Kevin Dyer, Cody Gray, Tyler Kopen, Jeff Phelps and Liam Winwood also scored in the game.

• Florida Southern heads to Rollins on April 15, before closing out the regular season at home against Lynn on April 22.
• The Sunshine State Conference Tournament, which includes the top four teams in the conference, will take place on April 28 (semifinals) and April 30 (championship) at the site of the regular-season champion.