Anderson Joins VanDerLaan as Division II GCAA/PING All-American

Anderson Joins VanDerLaan as Division II GCAA/PING All-American

NORMAN, OKLA. – The Golf Coaches Association of America has announced its complete set of All-American teams, with Florida Southern senior Christian Anderson joining Michael VanDerLaan on that list. VanDerLaan was previously announced as a PING Division II First Team All-American after winning the NCAA Division II individual national title, and Anderson has now given Florida Southern another All-American as an honorable mention selection.

Anderson was a regular member of the lineup for Florida Southern all four years of his career and played in four Division II National Tournaments. The Moccasins advanced to at least the semifinal round in all four of those, with Anderson a big part of their national championship team in 2017. This year, he helped the Mocs again reach the semifinal round of medal play by shooting a four-under-par 212 (74-66-72) to tie for fourth during stroke play. That followed Anderson's team-best 223 (+7) at the Division II South/Southeast Super Regional where he tied for 18th in a field of 108.

In the head-to-head portion of the national tournament, Anderson added rounds of 72 and 74 against Trevecca Nazarene and Lincoln Memorial, giving him a five-round tournament total of two-under-par. When combined with his scores from the Sunshine State Conference and South/Southeast Super Regional Tournaments, Anderson led the Moccasins with a 73.00 stroke average in the postseason.

Overall this season, Anderson put together a 74.08 scoring average, and his .639 individual winning percentage was second on the team to VanDerLaan. He was also tied for second with 10 under-par or even-par rounds.

Division II PING All-America Teams

First Team (Announced May 23)
Christian Bosso, West Florida
Sam Broadhurst, Lincoln Memorial
Toto Gana, Lynn
Jorge Garcia, Barry
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern
Zach James, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Vincent Norrman, Georgia Southwestern
Michael VanDerLaan, Florida Southern
Niclas Weiland, Barry

Second Team
Chase Carlson, Colorado Christian
Jordan Doull, Columbus State
Tom Forster, Carson-Newman
Giovanni Manzoni, Lynn
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
Kelley Sullivan, Chico State
Elis Svard, CSU Monterey Bay
Zach Zediker, Delta State

Third Team
Morgan Egloff, Rollins
Emilio Gonzales, St. Mary's (TX)
Trevor Norby, Oklahoma Christian
Max O'Hagen, Florida Tech
Matt Paradis, Southern New Hampshire
Gonzalo Pan De Soraluce, Western New Mexico
Joel Sylvan, Missouri-St. Louis
Yente Van Doren, Lindenwood

Honorable Mention
Christian Anderson, Florida Southern
Tyler Bakich, Barry
Will Barnett, CSU East Bay
Dan Bradbury, Lincoln Memorial
Carlos Bustos, Lynn
Harry Butler, West Florida
Daniel Faccini, Barry
Austin Gean, Arkansas Tech
Devin Gregg, Sonoma State
Matthew Hedges, CSU Monterey Bay
Hayden Hui, UC San Diego
Jacob Huizinga, West Florida
Samuel Jones, West Georgia
Brett Krekorian, Limestone
August Lindvall, USC Aiken
George Markham, Colorado School of Mines
Josh McCollum, Chico State
Shawn Tsai, Arkansas Tech
Jorge Villar, Lynn
Jack Weller, Ferris State