Browning Named to Golden Spikes Award Midseason Watch List

Browning Named to Golden Spikes Award Midseason Watch List

DURHAM, N.C.Logan Browning has been named to the Golden Spikes Award midseason watch list as announced today by USA Baseball. The Golden Spikes Award is emblematic of the top amateur baseball player in the country. Presented in partnership with the Rod Dedeaux Foundation, the 41st Golden Spikes Award will be presented on June 28 in Los Angeles.

The midseason watch list features 40 of the nation's top amateur players from the college ranks. The Golden Spikes Award Advisory Board will continue to maintain a rolling list of athletes, allowing players to play themselves into consideration for the award before announcing the semifinalists on May 21.

Browning, who is the Moccasins' Friday night starter and also starts in right field when not pitching, is one of just two NCAA Division II player on the list, joining Zack Shannon from Delta State University.

The senior right fielder enters the week ranked tied for third in the NCAA Division II with a .461 batting average and is 10th nationally with a .533 on-base percentage. He is the fourth toughest hitter to strike out in the Sunshine State Conference with one strikeout in every 11.1 at-bats. Browning is currently riding a 12-game hitting streak in which he is 25-for-41 for a .491 clip with 15 runs scored and 11 RBI.

On the hill, the lefty is 6-2 with a 3.61 ERA and is ninth in the SSC with 63 strikeouts in 57.1 innings pitched.

For his three-year career, Browning, who transferred to Florida Southern after his freshman season at the University of Florida, had played in 135 games with a .371 career batting average. He has scored 124 runs, collected 162 hits, including 36 doubles and 20 homers (tied for 11th most ever at FSC) with 105 RBI. As a pitcher, he has started 41 career games with a 19-7 all-time record and a 4.45 ERA. He has recorded 227 strikeouts in 216.0 innings. The 227 Ks ranks 16th all-time at Florida Southern while his 41 games started is tied with Joe Walczak (2003-06) for seventh place on the Moccasin career list.

In total, 13 different NCAA conferences have at least one athlete on the list, including two NCAA Division II conferences in the Gulf South Conference and the Sunshine State Conference. The Southeastern Conference leads all conferences represented on the midseason watch list with nine athletes, while seven players represent both the Atlantic Coast Conference and the Pac-12 Conference. The defending College World Series champions, Florida, leads all schools with three athletes on the 2018 midseason watch list. Arizona State, Kentucky, NC State, Oregon State, and Southern Mississippi all placed two athletes on the list.

On Monday, May 21, USA Baseball will announce the semifinalists for the 2018 Golden Spikes Award. The list of semifinalists will then be sent to a voting body consisting of baseball media members, select professional baseball personnel, current USA Baseball staff and the 40 previous winners of the award, representing a group of more than 200 voters. As part of this selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of semifinalists. On June 6, USA Baseball will announce the finalists, and voting for the winner will begin that same day.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2018. Beginning with the semifinalist announcement and continuing through the finalist round voting deadline, fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player on GoldenSpikesAward.com.

The winner of the 41st Golden Spikes Award will be named on Thursday, June 28, at a presentation in Los Angeles. The finalists and their families will be honored at the Rod Dedeaux Foundation Award Dinner that evening at Jonathan Club in downtown Los Angeles.

USA Baseball has partnered with the Rod Dedeaux Foundation to host the Golden Spikes Award since 2013. The Foundation was formed to honor legendary USC and USA Baseball Olympic team coach, Rod Dedeaux, and supports youth baseball and softball programs in underserved communities throughout Southern California.

Last year, Louisville's Brendan McKay took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that include Kyle Lewis (2016), Andrew Benintendi (2015), A.J. Reed (2014), Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009), Buster Posey (2008), and David Price (2007).


Golden Spikes Award Midseason Watch List
Name, Class, Position, School, Conference

  • Luken Baker; Jr.; IF/DH; TCU; Big 12
  • Joey Bart; Jr.; C; Georgia Tech; ACC
  • Seth Beer; Jr.; IF/OF; Clemson; ACC
  • Alec Bohm; Jr.; IF; Wichita State; American Athletic
  • Kyle Brnovich; So.; RHP; Elon; Colonial Athletic
  • Brian Brown; Sr.; LHP; NC State; ACC
  • Logan Browning; Sr.; LHP/OF; Florida Southern; Sunshine State
  • Kris Bubic; Jr.; LHP; Stanford; Pac-12
  • Michael Busch; So.; IF; North Carolina; ACC
  • Michael Byrne; Jr.; RHP; Florida; SEC
  • Gage Canning; Jr.; OF; Arizona State; Pac-12
  • Joe DeMers; Jr.; RHP; Washington; Pac-12
  • Colton Eastman; Jr.; RHP; Cal State Fullerton; Big West
  • Jeremy Eierman; Jr.; IF; Missouri State; Missouri Valley
  • Tyler Frank; Jr.; IF; Florida Atlantic; Conference USA
  • Logan Gilbert; Jr.; RHP; Stetson; Atlantic Sun
  • Luke Heyer; Sr.; IF/OF; Kentucky; SEC
  • Chris Holba; Jr.; RHP; ECU; American Athletic
  • Jonathan India; Jr.; IF; Florida; SEC
  • Jake Irvin; Jr.; RHP; Oklahoma; Big 12
  • Mitchell Kilkenny; Jr.; RHP; Texas A&M; SEC
  • Brett Kinneman; Jr.; OF; NC State; ACC
  • Cody Klemens; Jr.; IF; Texas; Big 12
  • Blaine Knight; Jr.; RHP; Arkansas; SEC
  • Trevor Larnach; Jr.; OF; Oregon State; Pac-12
  • Davis Martin; Jr.; RHP; Texas Tech; Big 12
  • Shane McClanahan; Jr.; LHP; South Florida; American Athletic
  • Keegan McGovern; Sr.; OF; Georgia; SEC
  • Drew Mendoza; So.; IF; Florida State; ACC
  • Casey Mize; Jr.; RHP; Auburn; SEC
  • Tristan Pompey; Jr.; OF; Kentucky; SEC
  • Griffin Roberts; Jr.; RHP; Wake Forest; ACC
  • Adley Rutschman; So.; C/IF; Oregon State; Pac-12
  • Nick Sandlin; Jr.; RHP; Southern Mississippi; Conference USA
  • Zack Shannon; Sr.; RHP/IF; Delta State; Gulf South
  • Brady Singer; Jr.; RHP; Florida; SEC
  • Bren Spillane; Jr.; IF/OF; Illinois; Big Ten
  • Spencer Torkelson; Fr.; IF; Arizona State; Pac-12
  • Andrew Vaughn; So.; IF; California; Pac-12
  • Matt Wallner; So.; UT; Southern Mississippi; Conference USA

About Golden Spikes Award
Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first-ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2017 Golden Spikes Award winner was Brendan McKay from the University of Louisville.