Lawton, Giardina Named Winners of Smetlzly & Webb Awards

Lawton, Giardina Named Winners of Smetlzly & Webb Awards

LAKELAND, Fla. - Florida Southern College basketball standouts Jonathan Lawton and Camille Giardina have been named as the winners of the Hal Smeltzly (Lawton) and Lois Webb (Giardina) Awards as the top male and female student-athletes at Florida Southern College for 2018-19. The duo is the first pair of Moccasin basketball student-athletes to be named Male and Female Athlete of the Year since the awards were first handed out in 1999-2000.

Giardina was the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year, a WBCA and D2CCA all-American, and the D2CCA South Region Player of the Year. Giardina helped lead the Mocs to a program-record 30 wins, SSC regular-season and tournament titles, and the top seed in the NCAA Division II South Regional. She averaged 19.8 points per game, the top mark in the SSC, and shot 48.3 percent from the floor as a senior. Her 654 total points this year were the second-most in a single season in school history, and she ended her career with 1,939 points, fourth-most in program history

Lawton was the SSC Player of the Year on the men's side and earned all-America accolades from the NABC, D2CCA, DII Bulletin, and Basketball Times. He was also the D2CCA South Region Player of the Year and was a finalist for the Bevo Francis Award, given annually to the top collegiate men's basketball player in the nation at the DII, DIII or NAIA levels. Lawton helped lead Florida Southern to an SSC Tournament title and its second-straight NCAA South Regional appearance. He ended his career with a scoring average of 22.3 points per game, breaking a school record that had stood for nearly 40 years.

Established in 1999-2000, the Hal Smeltzly Award is named for the Moccasins' long-time baseball coach and athletics director. He was the Moccasins' baseball coach from 1958-76, winning 391 games and three national championships. As Director of Athletics from 1972-2000, he oversaw a Moccasin program that produced 21 national championships. He retired in 2000. Smeltzly is a member of the ABCA, Royal Dutch Sports, Florida Sports, Polk County Sports, Sunshine State Conference, FSC Baseball and FSC Athletics Halls of Fame and his baseball uniform, number seven, is retired.  Smeltzly passed away in June at the age of 86.

Established in 2017-18, the Lois Webb Award (previously also the Hal Smeltzly Award) is named for the Mocs' longtime volleyball coach and athletic director. Webb led the volleyball program from 1977-2000, compiling a record of 747-272 while leading Florida Southern to 16 NCAA Tournament appearances, including fourth-place finishes in, 1981, 1989 and 1991. She served as the athletic department's Senior Woman Administrator under Smeltzly and took the reigns as Director of Athletics in 2000 before retiring in 2008. During her time as the athletic director, Florida Southern won three NCAA National Championships. She also served as the head women's basketball coach from 1978-82 and was the first-ever women's golf coach at Florida Southern. Webb was inducted into the AVCA Hall of Fame as part of its inaugural class in 2003. She is also a member of the Polk County Sports, Sunshine State Conference, and Florida Southern Athletics Halls of Fame.