Men's Tennis Takes No. 7 Seed for SSC Tournament

Men's Tennis Takes No. 7 Seed for SSC Tournament

MELBOURNE, FL - Florida Southern has been seeded seventh for the 2018 SSC Men's Tennis Tournament which will be held April 19-21 at the IMG Academy in Bradenton.

The Moccasins finished the conference season with a 2-6 record to finish in seventh place. Overall, Florida Southern is 8-10 on the season and is ranked 44th in the NCAA Division II as compiled by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

Florida Southern will take on second-seeded Barry as all four opening quarterfinal matches will be held on Thursday, April 19 at 3:30 p.m. Barry won, 9-0, in the two team's meeting this season on April 7 in Miami Shores. The Buccaneers are 17-2 overall and finished the SSC with a 7-1 mark.

Other quarterfinal pairings include #1 Saint Leo (19-0, 8-0 SSC) vs. #8 Florida Tech (8-8, 1-7); #3 Lynn (13-5, 6-2) vs. #6 Rollins (8-12, 3-5); and #4 Palm Beach Atlantic (15-8, 5-3) vs. #5 Embry-Riddle (11-7, 4-4). The semifinals will be contested on Friday, April 20 at 2 p.m. with the championship match slated for 1 p.m. on Saturday, April 21. 

Last year, Florida Southern was eliminated in the first round by a 5-4 loss to Rollins.

Tim Becker leads the Moccasins with a 9-7 record while Miguel Alvarez-Hevia also has nine wins with a 9-8 record. Victor Ahlbeck ranked 53rd nationally, is even on the season at 8-8 while Alvaro Arias (ranked 72nd) and Lennart Vossagaetter both have won six matches for the Moccasins this season.

Seven SSC men's tennis programs are ranked in the latest ITA poll. Saint Leo remains No. 1, while Barry stays put at No. 2 and Lynn comes in at No. 5. Other SSC teams ranked include #16 Embry-Riddle, #19 Palm Beach Atlantic, #43 Rollins, and #44 Florida Southern.

Barry men's tennis swept all competition on the way to winning the national title in 2015. The Buccaneers went 26-0 and for a second time in program history went unbeaten to win a national title. Rollins picked up their last national title in 2001 and leads the SSC with four overall. Three national titles for Barry put them in second. Lynn won the title in 2007. From 2006 to 2015, the SSC has sent a team to eight championship matches, coming away with four titles.